“Legalized Murder,” an Anti-war Song Inspired by Harry Patch

London musician Frobisher recently penned the lyrics to an antiwar song inspired by Harry Patch, the last surviving soldier known to have fought in the trenches of the First World War.

“Harry Patch called war ‘legalized mass murder.’ In his honour, on this day, 11th November, I want to put up the lyrics to a song I’m working on. Make up your own tune.”

 

One’s got a bomb strapped to his chest

and one sends the bombs to the East from the West

they’ve one thing in common, it’s what they do best.

they both commit murder in my eyes

not in my name.

 

They give the orders the others must follow

and feed us lies they expect us to swallow

their premise is thin, their promise is hollow.

they justify murder in my eyes

not in my name.

 

So go join their armies if that’s your intent

if upon violence and war you’re hell-bent

a soldier you’ll be, but a hero you ain’t.

you sign up for murder in my eyes

not in my name.

 

By going to war, do you think it’s alright

to blow up a building with children inside?

go tell their mothers it’s for freedom they died.

they’re victims of murder in my eyes

not in my name.

 

So load up the rockets and fire the guns

and kill and destroy and say “job well done!”

where you once had a conscience, now you have none.

you’re guilty of murder in my eyes

not in my name.

 

So you make the weapons to deliver the death

or your company takes over the ruins of what’s left

you ain’t pulled no triggers, but you’re killers nonetheless.

you profit from murder in my eyes

not in my name.

 

I don’t care about the colours of the flag that you wave

I don’t care about the name of the god to whom you pray

I’m just counting the bodies you bury each day.

It’s legalized murder in my eyes

not in my name.

This entry was posted in The New Peace Movement and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Legalized Murder,” an Anti-war Song Inspired by Harry Patch

  1. tiffany267 says:

    Reblogged this on Tiffany's Non-Blog and commented:
    Best song lyrics of all time.

Leave a Reply

