Dear President Obama

Dear President Obama and Members of Congress:

The wars in which the United States is currently engaged–in Afghanistan, Pakistan, Iraq and Libya–are harming U.S. national and economic security, degrading the standing of the United States in the world community, fueling hatred abroad for Americans and undermining the rule of law. These unconstitutional wars have been justified on false premises, and most recently in the case of Libya there was not even the pretense of a congressional declaration of war, making it an impeachable offense. We urge you to end the current illegal wars and start a national dialogue about shifting U.S. foreign policy away from dominance through military might, and toward being a member of the community of nations.

To read and sign please click here for the full text of the letter.

Add signature below the page of the full text of the or send an email to akeaton@antiwar.com.

This entry was posted in Afghanistan, Barack Obama, The New Peace Movement. Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Dear President Obama

  1. Susan Balmer says:

    Susan Balmer, Chicago, Illinois

    Please add me.

  2. Phil Dennany says:

    It is still very urgently necessary for the United States of America’s national security for our official government to correct the obvious intentional cover up of what actually happened on September 11, 2001, as well as who actually did that treason of mass murder and destruction that was fraudulently and wrongly used to begin the ongoing and still expanding criminal US lead NATO wars of terror. This country must prosecute those in our supposed “representative” government for their crimes of treason, a first step in bringing us back to true Independence that guaranteed by our Constitution. We must again be able to have freedom without the degrading Patriot Act that wrongfully destroyed the meaningful Bill of Rights.

  3. Robert Stephens says:

    This must be done for those who have already lost their lives in war as well as well as for those who are in harms way at this time. We must always be prepared for war but to continue doing what we are doing now is insane, unproductive, inhumane and lastly, it is financially destructive to everyone in this country except for the select few who profit from war.

  4. Jill Pyeatt says:

    Please add me.

    Jill Pyeatt
    Monrovia, CA 91016

  5. Waldemar Storm MD says:

    Please add my signature to the letter. America is spending vast amounts of wealth it does not have, creating historic deficits, bankrupting its economy, undermining its own laws and constitution, undermining its credibility, restricting the civil liberties of its people, failing to create jobs at home, in the pursuit of a destructive militaristic foreign policy with dubious goals that extends endlessly into the future. How will these wars against Iraq, Afghanistan, Libya, Yemen, Pakistan, (Iran?), resource wars that seem intended to surround the ME oil region with a permanent military presence, make America safer and more secure? Are we safer today, the ME more stable and the petroleum lifeline more reliable as a result of these wars? It never did make a lot of sense and it makes less sense today. It’s long overdue that we adopt a sane foreign policy.

  6. Please add: Malcolm J. Chaddock, Member Veterans For Peace Portland, OR Ch72

  7. Michael P. Fullen says:

    Michael P Fullen, Toms River NJ

  8. dan green says:

    This war America is at, against what looks daily more and more to be against islam and developing nations must stop.

  9. Theresa Stewart says:

    Dear President Obama,

    I worked on your campaign and believed in your message. I ask that you re-connect with the person that you were and your beliefs and save this great nation and it’s people! Bring our troops home and put those billions of dollars back into services for those suffering here in the United States!!

  10. Michael Cammsio says:

    Michael Cammiso Bellmore, N.Y.

  11. Shannon Mueller, Alamogordo, NM

  12. Tony Soldo says:

    The USA is 14 Trillion Dollars in Debt, mostly to other nations, and the monthly interest alone is over 100 Billion Dollars, which had to be borrowed from other nations.
    Yet, the US government transfers over 1 Trillion Dollars a year to Wall Street corporations known also as the Military Industrial Complex.
    The US government also transfers the wealth of the nation to other nations through financial aid and loans.
    This is not sustainable.
    The US Empire is expanding like a Wall Street Bubble, and it must stop expanding or it will collapse, like the US Dollar is collapsing, and hyper-inflation is taking hold of our lives.
    Can you see the problem?
    Stop spending our money, and our future, on never ending wars that serve only the corporate interests, and shut down all US military bases around the world, and return all military personal back to the USA.
    Peace.

  13. Eric Albert says:

    One has to have a grip on social theory and history to understand what is to come. I called for Obama’s impeachment, the first week he was in office for two reasons, namely 1 plus 1 equals 2 and it could only get worse. First reason was that Obama was surrounding himself with Wall Street, Goldman Sachs criminals as his corporate, class advisors, proof he bought into the same class dogmas, of free markets, free trade which were in fact class tyranny, class deformed markets and appeasement of Wall Street criminals.

    Reason two was his order to the fascist CIA and military to carry out illegal aggression, illegal drone attacks against countries that involved hundreds of innocent victims. Such Nazi behavior SUGGESTED TO ME that Obama believed in military might of Amerika, fascism itself, and breaking international laws. It took 3 years for the liberal and progressive community to put 1 plus 1 together, that these corporate and military fascist policies would only widen, extend throughout the world until Obama became Bush ‘s third term presidency, a BI PARTISAN FASCISM. Welcome to rationality, morality, logic and impeachment of the two party criminal system. The Liberal class/empire whores, appeasers of Fascism, began with the Weimar regime appeasing Hitler and fascist capitalism. Today the corporate /NATO west appeases global fascism, both corporate and military despotism.

  14. Tania says:

    This design is steller! You obviously know how to keep a reader entertained.

    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to
    start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Great job. I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.

    Too cool!

  15. Willie says:

    The very root of your writing while appearing agreeable initially, did not work perfectly with me after some time.
    Someplace throughout the sentences you actually managed to make
    me a believer unfortunately just for a very short while.
    I still have got a problem with your leaps in logic and you would do well
    to fill in those breaks. If you actually can accomplish that,
    I will definitely be fascinated.

  16. Regena says:

    Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored to death at work so I decided to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I love the info you provide here and can’t wait to take a look when
    I get home. I’m shocked at how quick your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using
    WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, good blog!

  17. Demetra says:

    hello!,I love your writing very much! share we be in contact more approximately your post on AOL?
    I require an expert on this area to solve my problem.

    Maybe that is you! Looking forward to peer you.

  18. Vera says:

    Thanks for your write-up. Another point is that being photographer
    entails not only problem in capturing award-winning
    photographs and also hardships in getting the best photographic camera
    suited to your requirements and most especially challenges in maintaining the grade of
    your camera. It is very correct and clear for those
    professional photographers that are straight into capturing a nature’s engaging scenes – the mountains, the forests, the particular wild or the seas. Going to these exciting places certainly requires a digicam that can live up to the wild’s harsh area.

  19. Tod says:

    Thanks for the new things you have revealed in your article.
    One thing I would really like to touch upon is that FSBO connections are built after some time.

    By releasing yourself to owners the first end of the week their
    FSBO can be announced, ahead of the masses start calling on
    Friday, you develop a good link. By mailing them instruments,
    educational resources, free reports, and forms, you become a good ally.
    By subtracting a personal fascination with them plus their
    circumstance, you create a solid relationship that, in many cases, pays off in the event the
    owners decide to go with a broker they know plus trust preferably you actually.

  20. Naomi says:

    Great – I should certainly pronounce, impressed with your site.
    I had no trouble navigating through all the tabs and related information ended up being truly
    easy to do to access. I recently found what I hoped for before you know it at all.
    Reasonably unusual. Is likely to appreciate it for
    those who add forums or something, site theme . a tones way for your customer to communicate.

    Nice task..

  21. Dorothy says:

    Excellent web site. Plenty of useful information here.
    I’m sending it to a few buddies ans also sharing in delicious.
    And of course, thank you on your effort!

  22. Tonja says:

    Thanks for the useful information on credit repair on this excellent web-site.
    A few things i would offer as advice to people will be to give up the
    actual mentality they will buy at this point and shell out later.
    As being a society we tend to make this happen for many things.
    This includes trips, furniture, in addition to
    items we really want to have. However, you have to
    separate the wants from the needs. While you’re working to raise your credit ranking score you really have to make some trade-offs. For example you’ll be able
    to shop online to save cash or you can turn to second hand retailers instead of highly-priced department stores to get clothing.

  23. Mari says:

    Thank you for another wonderful post. Where else could anyone get that kind of info in such a perfect way of writing?

    I’ve a presentation next week, and I am on the look for such info.

  24. Adelaida says:

    Hi would you mind letting me know which web host you’re working with? I’ve loaded your blog in 3
    different browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot faster then most.
    Can you suggest a good internet hosting provider at a honest
    price? Many thanks, I appreciate it!

  25. Brittney says:

    Do you have a spam problem on this blog; I also am a blogger,
    and I was wondering your situation; we have developed some
    nice practices and we are looking to exchange solutions with other folks,
    be sure to shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  26. Miles says:

    Thank you for another wonderful post. Where else may anybody get that type of info in such
    a perfect approach of writing? I have a presentation next week, and I am at the search for such info.

  27. Ezra says:

    This web site is known as a walk-by means of for all the information you wished about this
    and didn’t know who to ask. Glimpse here, and you’ll undoubtedly uncover it.

  28. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew
    of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter
    updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

  29. Hello, i feel that i saw you visited my site so i got here to return the
    want?.I am trying to in finding things to enhance my
    site!I suppose its good enough to use some of your concepts!
    !

  30. This website definitely has all the information and facts I needed about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  31. Excellent beat ! I wish to apprentice while you amend your web site,
    how can i subscribe for a blog website? The account helped me a acceptable deal.
    I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast
    offered bright clear concept

  32. Oh my goodness! Incredible article dude! Thank
    you so much, However I am having problems with your RSS. I don’t know the reason why I can’t subscribe to it.
    Is there anybody getting the same RSS issues? Anyone that knows the answer will you kindly
    respond? Thanx!!

  33. I’m extremely inspired with your writing skills and also with the structure to your blog. Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself? Anyway keep up the excellent high quality writing, it is rare to see a great blog like this one today..

  34. I know this web site provides quality based posts and extra information, is there any other web site which
    offers these kinds of information in quality?

  35. web link says:

    What’s up i am kavin, its my first time to commenting anyplace, when i read this piece of writing i thought i could also make comment due to this good paragraph.

  36. Kathie says:

    Thanks for sharing your thoughts. I truly appreciate your efforts and I am
    waiting for your next post thanks once again.

  37. I don’t know whether it’s just me or if everyone else encountering issues with your blog.

    It seems like some of the text within your content are running off the screen.

    Can somebody else please provide feedback and let me know if this is happening to them
    as well? This could be a issue with my internet browser because I’ve had this happen before. Thank you

  38. Wow, that’s what I was seeking for, what a data! present here at this weblog, thanks admin of this web site.

  39. Hey there! I understand this is somewhat off-topic but I needed to ask.

    Does managing a well-established blog like yours require a
    lot of work? I am brand new to running a blog however I do write in my diary everyday.
    I’d like to start a blog so I can share my own experience and thoughts online. Please let me know if you have any recommendations or tips for brand new aspiring blog owners. Thankyou!

  40. Its such as you read my mind! You seem to understand a lot about this, like you wrote the e-book in
    it or something. I feel that you could do with a few p.c. to pressure the message house a bit, but other than that, this is
    fantastic blog. A fantastic read. I will certainly be back.

  41. Spot on with this write-up, I really believe that this amazing site needs far more attention.
    I’ll probably be returning to see more, thanks for the info!

  42. facebook says:

    How did you get this dysfunction in the United States.
    The pregnancy has excited her to the local police, in the
    comments. Apparently the joke wore off fast and now she is considering suing the flour bomber.

  43. WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by searching for private rentals in dc

  44. I do not even know how I stopped up right here, however
    I believed this put up was once good. I do not understand who
    you might be but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you aren’t already. Cheers!

  45. Everything is very open with a precise clarification of the issues.
    It was truly informative. Your website is useful. Thanks for sharing!

  46. Hi! Quick question that’s totally off topic. Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My web site looks weird when browsing from my iphone4. I’m trying to find a
    template or plugin that might be able to fix this issue.
    If you have any recommendations, please share. Appreciate it!

  47. I like the valuable information you provide in your articles.
    I’ll bookmark your weblog and check again here regularly. I am quite sure I’ll learn many new stuff right here!
    Good luck for the next!

  48. Kristopher says:

    Hi there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and
    found that it’s really informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I will be grateful if you continue this in future. Numerous people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  49. minarchist-at-large says:

    “and toward being a member of the community of nations. ”

    I cannot sign this otherwise appropriate letter to the megalomaniac-in-chief.
    The above excerpt should be the warning to all and sundry that this is yet another attempt to steer the american public into accepting the UN and the “One World Government” model of tyranny.

    Each nation should be its own individual sovereign entity and responsible to its citizens.

    IF YOU don’t stand and resist tyranny who can you blame when it is thrust upon you?

  50. Gisela says:

    It’s great that you are getting thoughts from this paragraph as well as
    from our discussion made at this time.

Leave a Reply

